Text Size

Clang Sayne

Clang Sayne "A singular, defiantly independent voice in the lineage of Joni Mitchell, Kate Bush, and Bjork."

- Cormac Larkin, Irish Times


NAWR ANOIS is a series of 7 concerts, running from February to July 2018. The series showcases the diverse music of Irish, Welsh and international artists.

The concerts will take place in the historic BBC Building in Swansea Studios at UWTSD. The series will feature: Mick O'Shea, Softday, Vicky Langan, Caoimhín Ó Raghallaigh, Analog On, Rachel Ni Chuinn, and Clang Sayne.

The seventh & final concert in the series welcomes folk sound art group Clang Sayne. Dublin based artist Aonghus McEvoy will also be performing.

Clang Sayne

Clang Sayne was formed by Laura Hyland in London in 2008 to fuse myriad influences spanning folk song, sound art and literature into a soundworld she describes as 'songscape'. Reviewers have dubbed it an "an uncategorizable approach to songcraft" and "exhilarating in its refusal to conform".

Currently based in Ireland, the group features Laura on voice and guitar, Judith Ring on voice and cello, Matthew Jacobson on drums and voice, and Carolyn Goodwin on bass clarinet and voice.

Their forthcoming album, 'The Round Soul of the World' is due for release in March 2017. A live version of the song 'Blackbird' from the album can be found here, and album launch tour dates here.

Former London incarnation of the group featured Peter Marsh on double bass, James O Sullivan on electric guitar and Matthew Fisher on drums, with whom Laura recorded and independently released the debut Clang Sayne album, 'Winterlands' in September 2009. The single, 'A Death and a Vision' featured on the Wire Magazine's Tapper cd in October 2009, and the album was subsequently re-released on Forwind Records in April 2010 to international critical acclaim.

Aonghus McEvoy

Aonghus McEvoy is a guitar player based in Dublin. He explores the intersections between composition and improvisation, oblique restraint and histrionic rock excess. Aonghus has performed with musicians such as Annette Krebs, Tina Krekels, Rhodri Davies, David Maranha, Nuno Torres, Ricardo Jacinto, Adam Campbell, Tristan Cluttrbuck, Adam Pultz Melbye and Damo Suzuki. He is also a member of fabricated folk troupe Woven Skull.





Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 19:00
Neuadd Y BBC Stiwdios Abertawe PCDDS / BBC Hall Swansea Studios UWTSD
32 Ffordd Alexandra / 32 Alexandra Road, SA1 5DT

Read 38 times